Love & Hope & Sex & Dreams

This is a thread for whatever you have to say about love. As will be evident, I’m not an expert. You might think that as long as I’ve been around I’d have learned something about the topic, but no. Sorry. Nevertheless, I’ll start.

BTW, though there are measures of hope and dreams, there’s no actual sex in this story, you pervs. What I’m going to tell you is personal but I’m pretty old now and getting to a point of not caring so much what people think. I’m not revealing identities, but I suppose there’s always a chance, so, to M, if you read this and don’t like it, I’m sorry but here we are.

Anyway, M, a friend I’ve known about 8 years and someone I care a lot about, ditched me a few months ago. Ghosted is the technical term, I believe. I’m sure she had her reasons, but it hurts.

M is quite a bit younger than I am. We’d been neighbors for about a year. It was her idea that I move in here. I’m sure she cares about me but I’ve always been confused about how strongly she feels and where she wanted our relationship to go. Going back a year and a half or so, she’d mentioned getting a house together and wanted to know how I felt about marriage and kids. At the time, I didn’t know how seriously to take her and I hadn’t thought of that as a real possibility at this point in my life.

After some months frequently and directly exposed to her charms (extraordinarily generous, sweet, smart, funny, affectionate, hot), I talked to her about it again but if that window was ever really open, it had closed. I didn’t believe what she pretty colorfully told me this time, that she wasn’t interested in marriage now. I felt she’d do it if the right guy stepped up and she was just telling me I wasn’t the guy. That was at the start of the year.