Leaving The US

I think this thread existed on the older site, but did not make it over. Anyway, I’ll start.

I am a Canadian Citizen with resident alien status. I have lived back and forth between the US and Canada my whole life, Cali, and BC. My wife is an American citizen who immigrated from Vietnam as a kid. I have two kids both born in the US.

I don’t want to move back to Canada really. I like it there, and like some things better there to be certain, but we have had a good and easy life here. Good cushy jobs. Loads of opportunities. Decent house and school for the kids. It’s kinda picket fence shit, if you are into that kind of thing.

When Trump won we immediately got the kids their Canadian citizenship proof sorted. I thought we were headed for a pretty bleak time and fairly quickly. I was hair on fire half the time and people around me were starting to worry about me. Trump was telegraphing all the things he was going to do back then, but we were in the stage where people still thought the republicans were going to squash him.

@Suzzer can probably recall my doom and gloom PMs to him back on 2p2 and they were off on some details and timing but arrived in the same fucking place.

All that time, I held out hope and clung to denial. You all have lived through this with me. Protests, incompetence, elections, Meuller, impeachment, Bernie…something had to throw a wrench in this shit. Like people could not possibly actually want to ruin everything? Right?

So now here we stand with our last “hope” being fucking Biden. That was the best that the so-called resistance could muster. Watching more vehement protests against safety precautions in a pandemic than we ever saw for concentration camps for children. I have been stripped of any hope.

My wife and I finally realized there is no argument for staying any longer. None. Well, the weather. That’s it. So we finally went through the birth of acceptance, we are really going to do this. We have to.