Unstuck Chess Tournament

I thought it might be fun to have an Unstuck chess tournament. Everyone is welcome, total noobs included, as long as you don’t mind probably getting crushed against the stronger players. The plan would be Round Robin, either blitz or rapid, with time advantage based on rating. What that looks like exactly depends what time control we play, but I’m currently thinking a minute for a 100 point rating difference and two minutes for each of the next two 100 points, to a maximum of 5 extra minutes?

I made some poles. Vote if you’re interested, only voting Yes on the last pole constitutes any sort of agreement to play.

Which site should we play on?
  • Lichess
  • Chess dot com

0 voters

If 3+2 and 5+0 together constitute a majority in this pole, we’ll play whichever form of blitz is favoured. We’ll only play 10+0 if a majority go for that.

What time control should we play?
  • 3+2
  • 5+0
  • 10+0

0 voters

I’ll provide some sort of prizes. I’m thinking 3 days per round, for everyone to find a time to play their games? I don’t know how to easily count signups so I’ll do it like this.

Are you in?
  • Yep
  • You Aussie bastard

0 voters

Last question needs to allow more than one selection IMO.

1 Like

Yeah I thought same when I answered it tbh.

I play almost exclusively 3+2 and my rating varies between 1200 when drunk and 1400 when sober. I’m pretty sure I could give drunk me a 2-3 minute handicap, so your system seems fair.

Double round robin if possible?

Yeah possibly, we’ll see what numbers are like.

I definitely think some sort of increment is by far the superior option, but seems that I’m in the minority so far.

btw it occurs to me that in cases where people don’t have a rating on whichever site we play on, we might have to estimate based on their lichess rating and proceed on that basis.

5+2 or 5+3 is a reasonable option as well, I guess sound off here if you’re voting blitz but would prefer that.