Accommodating a disability

I don’t know if this is really threadworthy but I’m interested in what people here think.

As I’ve mentioned before, to make money I’m a talent agent and have been for many years.

One of the agents who works for us saw a talented hearing-impaired actor on a TV show, looked them up, and saw they did not have an agent, only a manager. So he reached out to set up a meeting. The manager was receptive and set the meeting (it’ll be on Zoom), then said “please reach out to this interpreting company” or something along those lines. The interpreting company said they were available and sent their contract and fee schedule. The agent reached back out to the manager to see if he was understanding this correctly, and the manager said

The actor’s entire family is Deaf, he does not have a family member to provide interpretation. Best practices for interviewing/meeting with a Deaf individual(s) is to honor their preferred interpreters. Access to accurate communication is crucial for all parties involved to ensure everyone is conveying and receiving information in their respective language. The ADA requires all businesses to provide auxiliary aids/services, including qualified interpreters, to ensure effective communication with people who are Deaf or hard of hearing. Per the ADA, the cost of such services may not be placed on the individual who is Deaf or hard of hearing. Asking a Deaf person to provide and pay for their own interpreter is akin to asking a wheelchair user to purchase and bring their own ramp to gain access to your office; which would never be done, and this is no different.

I think this is interesting because I totally see where the manager is coming from, but also wonder if there’s a continuum of responsibility. Requiring us to hire and pay for a specific interpreter seems…I don’t know. If a hearing-impaired person walks into Best Buy, is Best Buy required to provide an interpreter? Should they be? I really don’t know!