We Are The Music Makers (Musician's Thread)

Thread for discussing music theory, production setups, etc…

3 Likes

I almost posted this earlier anyway:

1 Like

I won’t add to the derail. I just started a musician’s thread (named after an Aphex Twin track).

Just ordered this and I"m getting excited:

4 Likes

Drummer and sometimes guitarist here. No formal musical knowledge other than the french horn between 4th and 8th grade.

I have an old Tascam 4-track in my basement. The same one that I used to record me and my mates in my parents’ basement back in the 90s. I wonder if that thing still works.

3 Likes

I had one of those 4-track units. The thing was great.

2 Likes

Just finished listening to the full Fair Warning , R.I.P. Edward

I think the solo on Push Comes to Shove maybe G.O.A.T.

Seemingly effortless technique, speed and melody.

Self taught guitar player here.

2 Likes

My friend has some of my only raps ever recorded on one of those around the time Sublime was using one. LOL.

1 Like

To answer your question, I don’t know exactly what the various analog clones are doing. I assume there are a lot of different techniques in play, but I still haven’t heard a digital one that I think sounds exactly like pure analog coming out of the box, yet I’m not sure why and there are too many confounders involved. They definitely scope different if only in a minor way. I remember reading in a Kurzweil manual once that some technical spec of a Moog filter just couldn’t be cloned digitally but I don’t remember what the exact argument was.

1 Like

OK I actually think this thread might be useful for me. I currently have the following:

Akai MPK49
Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
Abelton 10 Lite
Plenty of guitars
Maple Leaf Rag partially memorized on piano from 4th grade

I have meant to go back and take the main Abelton tutorials but have been so lazy about doing so. Feel free to recommend other materials for me or yell at me to stop being lazy.

3 Likes