Profile Your Worst Boss

Late 50s white male. Divorced, overweight, perpetually miserable.

Why terrible: did not understand anything about the department he was in charge of, deliberately shit talked best performers and kept them from interacting with his bosses to protect himself and take credit for their work, refused to give anyone raises, serial sexual harasser, openly racist, insulted team members (all) behind their backs to other team members, dumb.

His pay: $450k

Outcome: he stayed with company until retirement, no consequences for anything ever, even after his entire team organized and complained to his manager about him.

5 Likes

Yeah, with maybe 3 or 4 minor changes, that’s literally a description of Donald Trump.

This guy makes too much money to be trump

1 Like

In a 34 year career I’ve had two really bad bosses. Both were the same guy.

Back in the early 90s I’m a rising junior scientist and he comes in as R&D VP at our not for profit. Dude is insane. Has the break room couch moved into his office so he can work all night and take naps as needed. When he says he can meet with you at 4 he means 4am. Very smart guy but a complete babbling idiot by Thursday. He doesn’t understand this.

He has no feelings. He has learned to fake them. He will let you talk yourself out and then still force you to do the worst fucking project. He bails after 18 months and develops this reputation in the industry. 95% of subordinates hate his guts. 5% love him cause he plays favorites. Bosses love him cause he talks big. General consensus is that things get done inspite of him.