Learning to speak a new language as an adult (experiences, struggles, tips, stories)

I figured this would be a cool thread to start as there are probably others who share my passion for learning new languages. I’m 36 now, and up until the age of 28 I spoke only English, but now I’ve added Spanish and French (both to a conversational level) and am hoping to expand in the future.

It mostly happened randomly. Back in 2012 I was just returning to the USA from a year stint in New Zealand. I was wondering where I would live next as I was an online poker pro looking to live abroad for the increased poker site options. Suddenly, Montreal came on my radar and as I researched it more and more I thought it might be cool to try living in a city where English is not the first option (albeit a widely available option if needed).

So I started learning French on Duolingo (and similar sites/apps) and realized I really enjoyed the process and it has been part of my routine ever since. Of course, before getting started I told myself “ok, I’ll start studying 6 months before moving to Montreal, an hour or two a day, and I’ll be fluent when I arrive!”. Of course, I was dead wrong and it’s a far more lengthy and challenging process than that, I could barely get beyond greetings when I arrived, but a process I found to be very rewarding and fun.

My new languages have opened up a world of opportunities in terms of travel, dating, social networking, consuming media, etc. and I’m sure many of us have intriguing anecdotes or helpful tips to share.